Home > Failure, Raiding, Ulduar, Uncategorized, Warrior > Algalon is not The Raid Destroyer…

Algalon is not The Raid Destroyer…

I am.

Well, ok; Blizzard has not graced me with that title, but I’ve got a pretty good case as to why that title should be bestowed upon me were it to actually be an in-game title.

Karazhan, circa mid-late 2007 – We were finishing up the run with Nightbane. Fight was going along as normal, right until after the last air phase. Got Nightbane to under 20%. That’s money shot time for a warrior (my warrior was my main at the time), so I decided to go balls-out: Death Wish, Recklessness, and Blood Fury were all up, and I popped some trinket as well for additional attack power, then started spamming Execute like it was going out of style. After 3-4 consecutive execute crits (with white hits/crits weaved in), Nightbane decided to turn and face me to say hi…in a fiery-dragon-breath manner. Managed to kill 5 others along with myself, and in the end, all we had remaining were the main tank and a healer, who combined managed to whittle Nightbane down from 5% to dead. I went nuts like that because I had the utmost trust in our main tank, but even the best tanks in the world can’t hold threat from a warrior that was going ape shit with every dps cooldown active.

The Immortal Run, circa early 2009 – Yep, I’m one of those people that managed to foil a glorious run up to Kel’Thuzad. One of our hunters became mind controlled right after phase 2 had started, and no one had CCed him for a good 3-5 seconds. I decided to run over and hex him, oblivious to the fact I just had the detonate mana debuff placed on me, then BLAMMO! One of our mages exploded in a blaze of arcane matter and fleshy bits. At that point, I wanted to hang my head and curl into a fetal position while I bit my fingers off. Instead, I just tossed my headset off, finished the fight, hearthed, then logged. We had other deaths occur during the fight, but I attribute that to an air-out-of-the-balloon snowball effect, where folks were going “wtf just happened?” when I nuked that mage, therefore losing focus and dying to silly things. To add further insult to injury, another Horde guild managed to obtain the title that same evening, right before our botched attempt (they finished within 30-45 mins before us). Talk about rubbing salt in the wound.

Wednesday Night – My internet connection decided to take a dump on me starting around 10 PM. We had just defeated XT hard mode along with Kologarn, Auriaya, and were about to attempt hard mode Hodir. While prepping, my connection drops. I disconnected a second time while running back after dying, but basically missed the entire fight (we ended up clearing it normal mode). Later I would disconnect right after we defeated Thorim and right at the start of phase 2 on Freya.

Last night – Towards the end of the evening while working on Yogg, I manage to disconnect 10 or so seconds after the initial pull. My job during phase 1 is to assist our tanks with taking the guardians down to the middle by earth shocking any casts the guardians may attempt. Guess what? I disconnected right as I was down near the middle assisting with dps and interrupts…right in the path of 3 clouds passing through. But wait, there’s MORE! I get reconnected, log on Vent to the sarcasm of our raid leader regarding how I manage to fail in epic proportions. I agree, crack a joke about hating the internet and universe or such, then logged back into WoW…only to find that I had NOT died (Hodir is a dick), and the raid had just rebuffed and was awaiting to run in for the next attempt. Needless to say, that was another wipe.

Ok, so a fair bit of the fail for me can be attributed to factors out of my control (silly ISP), but when I do fail in raids, it’s like I fail on levels people can only dream about (or have nightmares about, if you will). No, I don’t lose sleep over these occurences, even when I managed to ruin the Immortal attempt.

If you’re going to fail in this game (or at anything, really)…make that shit memorable. Don’t just die in a void zone or fail at the regular things people fail at. Make people’s jaws drop when you tell them how you failed. It’s bad enough that you failed to begin with; might as well make it so epic that later on you can’t help but laugh at it.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

