Home > Achievements, Failure, Raiding, Trial of The Crusader > BRS (Bi-Polar Raid Syndrome, not Blackrock Spire :-P)

BRS (Bi-Polar Raid Syndrome, not Blackrock Spire :-P)

Funny how things work sometimes. Tuesday rolls arounds, raids reset, and come 8:15, we start invites and for the first time in what seems like forever, we manage a full 25 by 8:30. We start with a “warm up” raid on Onyxia, which wasn’t exactly smooth (and people still got hit by the damn deep breath, but it’s almost usually a disconnect). Afterwards, we proceeded to TOGC 25, where we got cockblocked by one thing after another, mostly with phase 2. It was the first time we had set foot in TOGC in about a month, so I was expecting some rustiness, but not to this degree. DPS was anemic, which really concerned me. Healing was solid as was tanking, from what I could tell.

Fast forward to last night. Confidence was shaken due to the previous night’s disaster. We had won VoA just before raid invites, so we went there for some faceroll content, and yours truly lucked out with a clutch roll to win a Grand Black War Mammoth (which dropped from Archavon, of all bosses). Being loot master, I waited for all rolls to come in, then rolled a 93 to beat the previous high of 92. If I ever get around to doing my tourney dailies again (which having to manage stuff after I log on becomes nigh impossible), this puts me that much closer to the 100 mount achievement. 🙂

Anyhow, back to the real topic. We finished up VoA, then went over to Sarth to pick up another mount (which we did with ridiculous ease…man, I remember when that fight was a solid challenge). Then it was decision time; we had 25 folks on, but due to lack of confidence, the votes were going between 2 x 10 mans, or nothing at all. I was vehemently opposed to doing nothing at all in order to save 10 mans for today or Monday. Instead, I just said to hell with it, set the diff to 25 man Heroic, then we proceeded to ToC.

I have no idea how or why, but it’s like all our dps hit a turbo button on their PC or something, because the dps was leaps and bounds better last night than the night before. I started off last night as resto, but upon realizing my contributions to the healing wouldn’t be necessary, I decided to take the aggressor route by switching back to dps and having us run with 5 healers…excellent choice, I’ll say. We went from killing Gormok and the second worm right as the following boss would come out to killing them with easily 15-20 seconds to spare. Sadly, we had folks get squashed by the yeti on some attempts, unlike Tuesday night (the not getting squashed thing was the highlight of Tuesday) and after 3-4 more tries, we finally downed the beasts (again). After that, I figured we would probably wipe on Jarraxus until our last attempt (which we generally pull a rabbit out of our hat and own face on), only to freaking one shot the bastard.

Sadly, we got to Faction Champs and got roflstomped for the most part, but we have had little time to work on that fight, so hopefully either tonight or Monday we can put in some quality time and get that encounter down before we go barging into ICC. Would be a nice note to enter ICC on, especially with having shed so many folks this week, including one of our officers. The loss of said officer has caused a lot of nervousness amongst many members of the guild, but I believe last night success will help lessen nerves. I know it did for me.

  1. December 3, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    A raid’s performance can be so very ridiculously variable, especially for those of us who run in more “casual” setups. I guess it’s just because we’re human beings and not machines, but it can be very demoralizing especially for leaders. To follow failures with stirring success is obviously a great boost! But my group knows only too well that usually our greatest successes are followed by hilarious failures, so we’re sort of hardened to the ups and downs by now.

    I laughed at the tags for this post 🙂

  2. December 3, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    Indeed. I’ve noticed the roller coaster-esque effect in times past, yet back then it never phased me, because I was like “Psh, we’ll manage through this”. I managed that mentality even after epic failure such as boning an Immortal run on KT. Guess I need to remind myself that things can and will improve. Such optimism is often on my mind, although with last night as an example, it can get shuffled to the back of the mind.

    Heh, the tags fit with the post title, methinks. 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

