zomg 3.3.3!

3.3.3 (non repeating) is here, and with it comes a rather interesting change for elemental shaman: Flame Shock DoT ticks are now affected by haste. Said DoT ticks also crit by default, which leads to an interesting question: Is it still worth glyphing?

Charles @ Planet of The Hats has some preliminary math up, and it indicates that the “new” FS glyph (increases DoT crit damage by 60%) isn’t as sexy as it may sound. In fact, it’s trailing behind Glyph of Lava AND Glyph of Flametongue…yeah, remember that glyph? I do; back in the day, around a year ago, when I was leveling through Northrend for the first time…fun times. It appears that it has made a comeback.

This post indicates that Glyph of Lava and Glyph of Flametongue both compete over the third major glyph slot for elemental shaman, with Lightning bolt still remaining king, followed by Totem of Wrath. Which of the two is better is largely situational now, and I believe this is a good change. It’s nice to have this form of flexibility with a major glyph slot, rather than there being the situation of “Use these 3 majors because the rest are shit”, which is how it’s been for a while from what I’ve observed.

Hasted FS ticks are going to take some getting used to, especially with Bloodlust up (at that time my DoT duration is right under 10 seconds, compared to 18 when it wasn’t affected by haste). I am VERY glad I have 4 piece T10 now, because the way it adds more time to FS ticks lets me keep my rotation up much longer without having to reapply FS. It is annoying, in a way, to have the DoT duration lowered, but it’s a dps upgrade, and it adds a bit of spice to our rotation (I could be half asleep and keep my rotation going before this patch). Overall, I’m cool with the changes.

Had some fun with my warrior yesterday. Managed to obtain a second Tyrannical Beheader, or as my friends and I affectionately call it, the Tyrannical Teabagger. I then changed my prot spec to fury, and oh how I missed being a decently geared warrior. Tested things out in Icecrown (the zone, not the raid), and in most cases I would hit whirlwind or bloodthirst after charging a mob and they would vaporize. I’m looking forward to getting some better weapons; the axe from Saurfang 10 man would make a beautiful addition, for it would let me rearrange some other pieces of gear for a massive gain in armor penetration. I also have the quest for Shadow’s Edge, and all that remains is 20 more primordial saronite. Of course, I acquired the blood this week, and what else does Rotface drop? Dislodged Foreign Object. Figures.

I’m happy, though, for my warrior will end up raping face once again when I decide to play him some more. Not too happy with Bladestorm being disarmable, though; the main issue with warriors in PVP (and why they do such retarded amounts of damage) is the Armor Penetration stat, not so much Bladestorm. Warrior DPS skyrockets as they stack arp; their damage scaling with better gear far outpaces practically every other class, which is how it’s always been in WoW. I still expect to beat the living hell out of folks once I manage to snag Shadow’s Edge, though, bladestorm being disarmable or not.

Last, but not least, Blood Queen 25 is down, and now we work on Sindragosa. Weee!

Time for me to jet now. It’s lunch time here. 🙂

  1. March 25, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    I totally agree with you on the FS change adding more variation, but I’m still a bit disillusioned about our rather bland glyph choices. Also I hate Glyph of ToW ><

    • March 25, 2010 at 6:12 pm

      Major glyphs in general across most all classes tend to be “more damage”, “MOAR DMG”, AND “lol EVEN MOAR DAMAGE OM NOM NOM” to some degree, therefore boring. That’s not to say I don’t like doing more damage…quite the contrary.

      I suppose it could be worse; we could still be required to use the FS glyph so that Lava Bursts don’t eat the DoT. 😮

      That doesn’t mean we can’t gripe about it, though. 😛

      • March 26, 2010 at 9:44 am

        Indeed! What else is blogging for!

        I think perhaps we need to look at how Glyphs change how people heal for a real comparison of what glyphs can do. Also whether healers like these variations in glyphs and the effect they have on play style (affect?)

      • March 26, 2010 at 3:56 pm

        I look at our current conundrum with FtW and Lava glyphs in a manner similar to how I view the Riptide and Lesser Healing Wave glyphs; both are very effective, but they can be interchanged to fit the player’s playstyle. A resto shaman that finds themselves tank healing a lot may opt for LHW over RT (or they may drop the CH glyph and take both).

        Perhaps our resto brethren are a prime example of how major glyphs should work. 🙂

        Sadly, I still believe people will look at major glyphs for a dps class under the tinted glasses of “Which ones will increase my dps the most?” Can I fault people for that? No, I can’t; a dpser’s job is to do as much dps as possible without dying/causing a wipe/etc., so we would naturally want stuff to increase our damage done.

        I’m still awaiting the CL glyph to turn CL into Fork Lightning so I can live it up as a Jedi Shaman. 😛

      • March 26, 2010 at 4:23 pm

        Yeah, that was exactly what I was thinking of too when I was initially reviewing our glyphs, and comparing them to having to chose glyphs for my resto offspec.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

