Home > 3.3, Elemental, Enhance, Expansions, Failure, Icecrown Citadel, Raiding, Shaman, Wrath of The Lich King (WoTLK) > Icecrown Plateau: DPS shaman not cutting it?

Icecrown Plateau: DPS shaman not cutting it?

Whoa, 2 posts in a week for the first time in ages.

For those who may have missed it, the Finnish guild Paragon defeated the heroic 25 man version of the Lich King encounter last week, just before the 5% zone buff became 10%. Their victory was big news being it is the world first victory over the encounter, but it made just as much news due to the raid composition they brought to the table:

# 3 x Death Knight – 2 x Frost, 1 x Unholy
# 4 x Druid – 1 x Feral Tank, 2 x Feral DPS, 1 x Balance
# 2 x Hunter – 2 x Marksmanship
# 5 x Paladin – 1 x Protection, 2 x Holy, 2 x Retribution
# 3 x Priest – 1 x Shadow, 1 x Holy, 1 x Discipline
# 3 x Rogue – 1 x Mutilate, 2 x Combat
# 1 x Shaman – 1 x Restoration
# 3 x Warlock – 1 x Demonology, 2 x Affliction
# 1 x Warrior – 1 x Fury

Browsing over the composition will reveal that there were no mages, resto druids, or dps shaman involved in this winning group. Most posts I’ve seen while browsing forums as of late were of the flavor of “zomg mages r skrued agin” or something to that degree. However, having read this post on Stratfu, where one of Paragon’s own chimed in regarding their raid comp:

Something I’d like to add is that while shamans have been lacking in the AE department for some time, they’ve been an okay alternative for the buffs they provide. With the recent patch, however, frost DKs provide melee haste, and a moonkin in general is a better option than an elemental shaman. Now that the alternatives are very viable indeed, dps shamans are no longer carried by their buffs.

If you ask me, it’s the dps shamans and resto druids that drew the short stick in this one. It’d be trivial to fit in mages.

Funny how the class with one of the more iconic cleave/aoe abilities (Chain Lightning) is the one left out in the cold when it comes to aoe DPS, at least according to the comment quoted above. Magma totem is (in most cases) only worthwhile to our enhance brethren, and it’s dps is weak compared to others. Dinking around on my level 72 warlock, Seed of Corruption spam (at his level) is dangerously close to the dps of my shaman’s magma totem. We’re talking a character that isn’t even 80, much less one that has no where near the gear level of my shaman. I can only wonder what kind of dps I could pull off with that guy when I hit 80 with him (which will take forever; I tend to hate leveling in Northrend now).

Is one comment from a member of a world-class raiding guild the be-all-end-all as to balance issues in this game? No, it’s not. That said, I do not believe these words should fall on deaf ears. When the stars align and all the buffs are in place, I can lay down some solid dps…if I don’t have to budge. With all the moving required, plus not being able to use dps fire totems most of the time, elemental dps is still crippled compared the the rest of the field. Our attempts on 10 man LK have had me in last place on virtually every pull, no matter what stops I pull out to close the gap. Of course, this is in a 10 man, and as usual, I don’t have a demo lock handy to keep up their superior spell power buff.

I may brainstorm some ideas on what could be done to help elemental dps without running the risk of it being OP or game breaking for PVP (Oh how fun it is to balance two completely different game types within the same game). I wouldn’t be surprised if others have beaten me to some of “my” ideas, but I will post them anyhow. For now, work beckons…argh, only 45 mins left until the weekend!

  1. April 8, 2010 at 9:28 am

    I don’t feel that we do need the boost in all honesty. I suspect those ‘class choices’ have more than an element of who the player is as much as what they are playing.

    As you say – if you have to drop TOW you’re going to be behind no matter what you can do, and luckily Blizzard is taking steps to fix this in Cataclysm.

    • April 8, 2010 at 2:07 pm

      Absolutely. Looks like I won’t have to do a lot of brainstorming because someone at Blizz put probes in my brain and extracted some ideas I had. More on this in an upcoming post. 🙂

  1. April 10, 2010 at 9:23 am

Leave a Reply

