Home > Achievements, Alts, Arena, Batlegrounds, Cataclysm, Expansions, Failure, Icecrown Citadel, PVP, Raiding, Wintergrasp, Wrath of The Lich King (WoTLK) > Achievement Hunting, Alt-itis, and Ruby Sanctum first impressions

Achievement Hunting, Alt-itis, and Ruby Sanctum first impressions

It’s been a busy couples of weeks on the RL front as of late, so time to catch the blog up on wow-related happenings, weee!

I can has cheese…ments?

I’ve become quite the achievement hunter as of late, and oddly enough it’s after I eclipsed the 9000 achievement points mark. I actually expected it to happen; it being that I would struggle to pass the 9000 mark (for which you get the ever-so lovely “It’s Over Nine Thousand!” feat of strength, which I link to noobs when they ask me what my gear score is). A month after acquiring said feat of strength, I now border 9500; 9495 to be exact, and I’ll tip over that scale once we make a corpse out of Halion.

The highlight of recent achievements was done with a pseudo-pug (pseudo in the fact it was mostly members of another raid guild on our server) that in 2 days cleared all of the Ulduar 25 hard mode achievements, including the Yogg +1 kill that taunted me for the past 2-3 months since the last pseudo-pug (which was more of a pug than this group) cleared all of the achievements except for Yogg +1, which we spent some 6 or so hours trying to complete. No more of that achievement festering like a wound, for now I fly the skies of Azeroth on an ironbound proto-drake, which is actually rarer than the ICC frost wyrm mounts that are starting to roll out in droves. Sadly, we could not beat Algalon with that group; our next to last attempt had him at ~5% (forgot the exact amount but it was single digits), but a LOT of people in the raid had never done the fight before. I believe that guild went back last week and got that done, though.

Speaking of frost wyrms…I’m only 3 achievements away from the bloodbathed frostbrood vanquisher, but I most likely won’t get that done this week. I’m in our hand-picked group that is working on LK hard mode, and I still need the achievement for letting necrotic plague or whatever stack to 30 (along with Full House and All You Can Eat). I should be able to coerce the guild into working those down, though. 😛

The largest chunk of the ~500 points I’ve acquired in the past month was by completing all the Midsummer achievements, which was the last of the metas needed to get the violet proto-drake. It was a bit anticlimatic, to say the least, since I got the violet a week after having acquired the ironbound…”eh, violet proto, whatever”…heh. 😛 I still think putting up with doing all that stuff over the course of a year warrants a nice shiny 310% speed flying mount. Looking forward, if I decide I want to pursue this drake on any of my alts, I’ll be able to fly around the old world when Cata arrives, so knocking this stuff out should be a LOT faster.

Now my goal is to make it to 10k achievement points before Cataclysm, but I do not think that will happen. The largest chunk of points I could acquire towards getting there would be by acquiring Battlemaster; I’m only about 2/3 of the way toward that, with a lot of Strand and AV victories between me and it, among a slew of other achievements, such as the infamous “We had it all along *cough*”, where you win a game of AB by the score of 1600-1590. Sadly, I know for fact I’ve pulled that off 2-3 times in years past, but that was well before the achievement system came into play. I could start looking for arena teams, also…but I think I’d rather stab myself in the eyes with a rusty spork than bother with arena. I thoroughly enjoy battlegrounds and Wintergrasp, but arena infuriates me to no end, mainly because you can no longer do well by grabbing your friends and jumping right in; they have to be a certain class/spec to complement you so that you can compete at a respectable level. Perhaps my full analysis/opinion on wow pvp will come to fruition in the form of a future blog post. 🙂

Alt-itis in Full Swing

Despite enjoying BGs and WG, I barely bothered with it this weekend. Instead, alt-itis was in full swing. I have acquired dual spec on every single character I have now (since I have money running out of my ears on Kaz; I have bought pretty much every “gold sink” at this point). Played my DK and hunter for the first time in several months; switched the DK from blood dps to unholy and I’ve noticed it’s a slight dps upgrade without having a good grasp on the rotation involved. I’m pretty sure I can start cranking out 1k dps consistently on him…oh, he’s level 67, btw, and half his gear is still the DK starter gear, heh. With the hunter, I have picked up Marksmanship as a second spec, along with the standard BM leveling spec. I’m thinking that MM, with it’s focus on increased direct damage and aoe, should allow me to push more dps than I currently do as BM. Also, in the event my pet were to die, I wouldn’t lose 40 some odd percent of my dps (I am making that number up, for I haven’t really paid attention to the damage breakdown to that degree).

My rogue and mage are neck and neck level wise, having just passed over the level 40 mark. They are both solid dps, but polar opposites; I can wreck single target dps on the rogue like it’s cool, but the mage wins the overall battle due to having obscene aoe. I enjoy the mage experience more, but that’s mainly due to WoTLK Syndrome, where every dungeon/raid has ended up being “zomg aoe” and mobs evaporate in a cloud of flashy colors. I have dual spec on both toons already, but with no clear direction as to what I’d do with a second spec…maybe pvp specs for each, but BG queues for horde in general are abysmal, no matter the level.

The lock and priest are stuck in the low 70s range for now; I will probably resort to leveling via quests, since I am bored to tears with Northrend dungeons since I’ve run them 1340589372618934751236495823745132 times in the past year and a half or so. They have their professions (tailoring/enchanting on the lock, herbing/alchemy on the priest) maxed out, so I have my money’s worth out of them, heh.

I am slowly converting my paladin into a full time healadin; the only problem is motivating myself to run heroics to finish off his gear…I think my summary in the previous paragraph sums that up. Druid isn’t doing much of anything since I’m burned out facerolling heroics for welfare loot; current use for him aside from making glyphs for other toons is Anzu farming; I have a deal worked out with a friend where we run each other’s mains through for Anzu using our druids. No mount so far, but I think in time we’ll both have it. 🙂

Ruby Sanctum: First Impression

Ruby Sanctum was finally opened to the public yesterday, and elements from it are quite nice to see. For one, there’s a couple of trash packs featuring Commander mobs (forget the exact name) that have to be pulled out and away from the rest, or else it provides a battle shout or whatever that increases the damage done by nearby units; the more that are stacked together, the more they get buffed. Try piling them all together and AOEing, and you’ll quickly see that your tanks are dead. Said trash packs have my seal of approval.

The mini bosses aren’t anything exciting, although the one that’s to the left when you enter can royally eff people up if tanks aren’t awake and pick up the mirror images. As for Halion…ah, Halion, you bastard. I personally feel like this is a VERY easy fight, at least on normal (I have not been in for any heroic attempts). All that fire and shit you see on the videos? It tickles. Seriously. I was quite disappointed when I stood smack dab in the middle of A FUCKING METEOR STRIKE…and it hit me for all of 15k. Hopefully on heroic that’s an instagib in heroic, heh. I mean…a giant fucking rock the size of a UPS truck just fell on my head and I’m doing just fine, thank you very much. Of course, I stood there while we purposefully dying due to a wipe being called.

So did we kill Halion? No…and of course we had a soul-crushing 2-3% wipe. So what was killing people? Positioning was one, namely when folks would transition between the realms. Folks would get gibbed by cleave going into P2 until we were like “durr, move teh dargon 2 teh wahl” or something to that degree. Biggest killer of the night, though: Big Blue Laser. In the shadow realm, there are 2 big orbs that circle the room; they resemble the shadow orbs that float around in the Blood Prince Council fight in ICC. Every 15ish seconds, there will be an emote/warning that goes out about the orbs getting shiny or something (were I to write it, it would say “HALION IZ CHARGIN HIZ LAZURZ”) then a laser beam forms between the two orbs, going across the room and rotating clockwise. Hardest job here, imo, would be for the tank; they have to keep themselves just ahead of the laser, almost parallel with it, so that us squishy folk don’t get owned by cleave, breath attack, or a tail swipe that stuns/knocks down long enough for the laser to catch up and OM NOM NOM NOOB.

That’s Halion in a nutshell, more or less. Not a very difficult fight, and I believe we’ll have it done with either tonight or some time later in the week. For now, lunch time is near, so I must go feed my face. Adios!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 5, 2010 at 2:57 pm

Leave a Reply

