Home > Cataclysm, Elemental, Expansions, Icecrown Citadel, Raiding, Shaman > Beta: Everything is subject to change. Also, updates to my leveling guide!

Beta: Everything is subject to change. Also, updates to my leveling guide!

So I do my round-about of wow-related sites this morning and find out that a new build is up on the Cata beta servers, and with it comes even more changes to the already radically changed talent trees:

http://www.mmo-champion.com/content/1880-Cataclysm-Beta-Build-12539

Over-dramatized summary of initial community reaction: OMFG WARE IZ ANCESTRAL SWIFTNESS!1!11 It’s dead and out the door, least as of this build. I’m not sweating it, despite the fact I’m a huge fanboy of the current Improved Ghost Wolf (prior to 3.3 it was always in my PVE builds). The more logical conclusions is that the insta-cast ghost wolf portion of the talent will return, either as baseline or as a new glyph of some sort…perhaps one of the new “medium” glyphs (which will be called major in Cata).

With the current trees, 34/2/5 looks like a solid build; points in Spark of Life could be shifted into Improved Shields for maximum mana efficiency, or in the event we get some retarded Vezax-style fight in Cata, those 3 points could come from Unrelenting Storm and be put in Ancestral Knowledge. I’m liking the current tree setup a little more now than the previous build, because it allows for a little bit of customization: Do you want maximum mana efficiency, or do you trade some of that for some survivability? There may very well be more changes, but I like the direction this is going in, save for having lost Ancestral Swiftness as it was.

Another thing I just realized I like: This build could be utilized for both PVE and PVP. I do wonder how well we will fare being that we are losing Ancestral Shift, but with increased health pools in relation to damage, hopefully things will work out fine. Having done PVP in WoTLK without Ancestral Shift…ow. Don’t do that. 😛

In other news, I combed over my elemental leveling guide and found that I had omitted Fire Nova and Magma Totem…fail and some more fail. Everything else in it appears to be relevant and up to date, but that’s just for WoTLK. Cata leveling will be totally different (perhaps even easier yet more fun at the same time). My guide can be found here.

Last, but not least, the ICC welfare buff is now at 30%, which last I recall was the highest that it was shown to be, least from datamined information circa November 2009. I don’t see a need for it to go any higher, really, and this is coming from someone who’s only 9/12 in heroic ICC 25. Our tanks were already pushing 80k hp fully raid buffed, so this may put them over that…funny how that’s about 10 times as much as a well-geared tank in vanilla. We’ve come quite a long way since then, heh.

Edit: Or the whole thing with Ancestral Swiftness was merely a setback…it wasn’t removed after all. See? That’s why I hate discussing beta things (but there isn’t much else to discuss) 😛

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

