Home > Uncategorized > Exit, Stage Left

Exit, Stage Left

Today, I finally got the wake-up call that’s been several years in the making. I am now ending my run on WoW once and for all.

When you come a stone’s throw away from losing someone special over a gaming habit, you’ve got some issues to deal with. Fortunately for me, I’ve been able to pull my head out of my ass and get priorities straightened out. I’m not taking a stab at the WoW community; there are some great people playing this game and I have made a LOT of friends through it. However, I’m not going to endanger potential long-term relationships and RL achievements just so I can get some more heroic ICC loot or vanity mounts.

To those who have SOs that are cool with them playing, more power to them. I have a good friend who is playing only because his wife allows it, but they have a newborn daughter now (their first child) so I suspect in the near future he’ll hit a similar point to what I have and put the game down again. Said friend also finally got the nerve to tell me today that even he believed I spent too much time on this game, and I agree. The numbers don’t lie: According to my Altoholic mod, I have just over 300 days played across all of my toons, and that isn’t counting 3 or 4 high level toons from vanilla that I deleted years ago. 300 x 24 = 7200…over 7200 HOURS I’ve spent on this game. I bet there are doctors and lawyers out there that have spent less time on that getting their doctorates or such. Interesting food for thought there…perhaps I will go research that since I’ll have more than enough spare time.

For those like me who may get some flak from those they care about regarding their WoW playing habits…don’t get agitated. Take a step back and think out what exactly is going on. I was totally oblivious as to how I tuned my gf out when I donned my headset to listen in on Vent. Sure, I could’ve played without being on Vent, but it was the night that we got our first Sindragosa heroic kill (shown in the previous post) so I wanted to be in on that for communication’s sake. I had no idea how much that bothered her (this was her first time seeing me play wow and how things worked).

I don’t have hard feelings toward this game. It’s my own fault for letting myself go and gorge on it in excess. Now it’s time I pass the torch on to someone else. Another subscription will take my place, especially come Cataclysm.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 17, 2010 at 1:03 am

    It always feels like a bereavement when someone leaves the WoW or blogging community. But I guess sometimes it feels like staying is bereaving someone else. If this is the way to achieve a better balance and mend some fences then I wish you all the best. It’s been good reading about your opinions and adventures especially when you’ve touched on stuff I don’t really do myself (like 25 man raiding or elemental PvP), as well as all the comments and posts you’ve written. If you do intend to keep blogging about anything then I’ll certainly keep reading 🙂 I mean, unless it’s something totally random like lorry gearboxes or giraffe nutrition, I’m not really into that sort of stuff.

    Best wishes and zug zug!

  2. September 17, 2010 at 9:18 am

    You’ve been a great commenter, and it’s been great reading your thoughts on my blog and over at Charles, as well as your (all too rare) posts here. Your reasons for quitting are fair enough, so I won’t argue with that. I’ll move your blog to the ‘hope he returns’ folder and keep an eye out for non-WoW posts.

    Thanks for all your contributions to the Shaman community, you will be missed. Good luck with all the RL stuff 😉 And I hope you find the balance you need.

  3. September 21, 2010 at 10:38 am

    I just randomly came across this when I was looking at your Elemental Shammy levelling guide. And I totally know where you are coming from.

    A few years ago when I was with my ex-husband and my life wasn’t going very well I spent nearly 12 hours a day 7 days a week on WoW.I would organise my life around playing the game, not going out if I thought I might be able to raid or get my alts a few levels. It was only when I ended up leaving my ex (not due to WoW, he was just as bad, there were other serious reasons) and didn’t have a net connection in my new place I realised how bad my WoW addiction was. Now with my current partner I have started playing again, with strict rules. I only raid 3 nights a week MAX finishing at 10.30 GMT at the latest, I only play when he is at work at other times, and weekends are our two days together, period. And it works. But I still find it tempting to do more, even though I am so much happier now I don’t play as much and actually have a life!

    So good luck with RL, and i think you are doing the right thing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

