Home > Cataclysm, Elemental, Expansions, Icecrown Citadel, Raiding, Shaman > Upcoming set models in Cata, and a nice welcome back

Upcoming set models in Cata, and a nice welcome back

Despite having been away for a bit, I happened to catch glimpse of some of the upcoming gear sets in Cataclysm, notably Tier 11 and Season 9 gear:

Tier 11

Season 9

Not the most visually impressive shaman sets IMO, but one thing to keep in mind is they are being modeled on a human, so the proportions and what not aren’t accurate for most of the races that can wear the gear. I find shaman gear to be more visually impressive on an orc, anyhow; just a small touch of bias there, nothing more. 🙂

For the T11, I’m liking the color scheme on the right as being the default one, and I would suspect the purple one being the heroic version (if they stick to that formula to differentiate the sets). The green looks much like something you’d expect to see on a druid. With the S9 gear, I see either the top or bottom color schemes being used; I think I’m leaning toward the bottom (blue) set since it would be more of a visual contrast to the T11 colors shown. Of course, all of this is merely my opinion on the matter, so I could be totally wrong on all of it. Wouldn’t be the first time, nor last. 😀

This week marks the first full week of raiding I’ve attended since I stopped playing, and I’ve gotten pretty lucky. This past Sunday, I picked up the Split Shape Belt, which was the last item from Halion 25 normal mode. Tuesday, I went into full on loot whore mode, scoring the Bulwark of Smouldering Steel, Necrophotic Greaves, and Belt of the Blood Nova. The shield was a definite highlight, for I had been using the regular version seemingly forever (I want to say I got it in February). Strange how some slots tend to go months and months between upgrades; the shield slot is one of such. With the stat changes going into Cata (mp5 converted to spirit, which is converted to hit for elemental), perhaps this won’t be as problematic.

Last, but not least: A wonderful note from the upcoming beta build.

Elemental

* Elemental Reach now also increases the range of Searing Totem by 7/15 yards.

This will put searing totem’s range at 35 yards, and we don’t know currently if totemic reach in the enhance tree applies to searing totem. Based on the wording of the talent, it would, so we could be looking at a potential 41 yard range on searing totem. I think I may opt to pass on totemic reach, though, if this range increase via elemental reach does make it live (and I think it will) in favor of reverberation, most likely. As I previously noted, though, it’s really nice having some options available in the talent tree.

  1. Maker
    November 19, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    Welcome back. I had all but moved on after your exit. Congrats on upgrading your shield. I had Voice of Reason right up until I got the normal Bulwark. 😦 (18months)

    • November 22, 2010 at 2:08 pm

      I can relate to that. I used VoR until I picked up the 245 Bastion of Resolve 8-9 months later. Of course, I end up with the regular Bulwark about 2 months after picking up the Bastion.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

